« Back to Events

Active Hope Webinar with Chris Johnstone

Start:
September 4, 2013
Venue:
online webinar

This six week distance-learning course is based on the book Active Hope by Joanna Macy and Chris Johnstone: it is designed to help you read the book at a deeper level, to more thoroughly absorb its teachings and to strengthen your ability to engage in Active Hope as a practice for the healing of our world. Over the course you will:

• join a group of up to 12 other people (plus two facilitators) in reading the book
• participate in weekly webinars to draw out key points and deepen your understanding
• engage in group and partnered exercises to move us round the spiral of the Work That Reconnects
• support each other in finding and offering our gift of Active Hope, which is our best response to the crisis unfolding in our world.

The course is facilitated by Active Hope’s co-author Chris Johnstone and experienced Work That Reconnects facilitator Barbara Ford. More information is available at this link.

The course takes place over six Wednesdays, with sessions of 90 minutes starting at 7.30pm UK time, 2.30pm US ET, 1.30pm US CT, 11.30am US PT and 8.30pm Europe CET.

We begin on September 4, 2013

“Just the simple fact of reading, preparing and doing the exercises with real live people – knowing that these people care as I do and are taking action – and doing this for weeks allowed an energy to build for me that I found transforming and deepening at so many levels.” -Webinar Participant

Cost and payment

$200 (approx £130 or €153) full fee
$150 (approx £96 or €115) early booking discount
$100 (approx £65 or €77) concession rate if on low income

Limited scholarships are available. Please contact Chris to inquire.
Registration is available at this link. We can also take cheques (in the UK and US) or direct bank transfers. Please email us to arrange this- Contact Chris here or Barbara here.

 

‘We live at a time when the living body of our Earth is under attack and when the attacker is not an alien force but our own industrial-growth society. At the same time, an extraordinary recovery process is under way, a vital creative response we call the Great Turning. What helps us face the mess we’re in is the knowledge that each of us has something significant to offer, a contribution to make. In rising to the challenge of playing our best role, we discover something precious that both enriches our lives and adds to the healing of the world. An oyster, in response to trauma, grows a pearl. We grow, and offer, our gift of Active Hope.’
From Active Hope, p.238.